The partners

Western Greece Region (P1)

The Region of Western Greece stretches from the northwest part of the Peloponnese to the western tip of the Greek mainland. It is one of the 13 Regions of Greece, is separated in 3 administrative districts, the Prefectures of Aitoloakarnania, Achaia, Elia and covers an area of 11.350 square kilometres (8,6% of the total area of Greece).

For the most part the terrain is mountainous (45,3%) or hilly (25,6%), while only 29,1% consists of plains. All three prefectures have extensive coastal areas along the Ionian Sea and the Gulfs of Ambrakia, Patras and Corinth.

For more information, visit:

Provincia di Taranto (P2)

The Province of Taranto (Italian: Provincia di Taranto) is a province in the Apulia region of Italy. Its capital is the city of Taranto.

For more information, visit:


Region of Epirus (P3)

The Region of Epirus, located in the northwest of Greece, is one of the 13 regions of the country and includes four prefectures.

The total area of the region is 9.203 square kilometers, of which 14% is agriculture land, 52% is covered by grassland, 26% is forest and 3% represents the surface waters, while built up areas and other uses account for the remainder of the land. The 74% of the region, is mountainous areas.

The mountainous area is dominated by the Pindus massive, where the homonymous national park is located. Here is one of the last biotopes of the brown bear all over Europe. The flora in Epirus is one of the richest in Greece, not only because of its diversity but also due to the existing rare species.

For more information, visit:

University of Patras (P5)

University of Patras is the third largest University in Greece concerning the size of students potential, the faculty members, administrative personnel, number of departments, and accredited students titles. Besides its distinguished path in education, the University of Patras has made excellence in the fields of basic and applied research. Among 24 departments, the Department of Biology and the Department of Pharmacy are actively participating in Re.Herb.

The Department of Biology has a long tradition in the Botanic Science. Proof to this is the existence of the Botanical Museum (Herbarium). It belongs to the section of Plant Biology and has approximately 150 000 plant specimens from Greece and other Mediterranean areas. The Botany Laboratory along with the Botanical Museum have taken on the European research project for electronic recording of cytological data of all countries in Europe and the Mediterranean and designated as one of the two centers to record the flora of the Balkans.

The Department of Pharmacy educates students and is active in research of all aspects of pharmaceutical science. A Laboratory dedicated to the study of medicinal plants and the natural products (Laboratory of Pharmacognosy and Natural Products) is in operation since the year 1989, which is in close contact and collaboration with many research groups at home and abroad. A main axis of its activity is the characterization of the phytochemical composition of aromatic and medicinal plants and the investigation of their biological properties.

For more information visit: